Ava ni R

” Happy New Year”, my family shouted.I hate New Year’s Eve because in the beginning it starts off OK but after a while it gets a bit crazy.Last year we had a New Year’s Eve party .I got hyper because I had six cans of coke.I felt weird and after an hour of running around, I fell asleep. I had a weird dream that I was sick. I woke up with vomit on my whole body. I had to  take a shower.After that I fell asleep on the couch. I was having a nice nap until everybody shouted ” Happy New Year”. That’s why I hate New Year’s Eve.

One thought on “Ava ni R

  1. Hi Ava,

    A really great story; a fun use of the prompt! You describe a feeling that I imagine a lot of people feel (but probably don’t say) on new years eve. This is a very unique take to the prompt. I can relate to this as I often feel like the night is over hyped and ends up either being rather boring, or as you said too crazy with everyone going over the top. I like your honesty from the beginning about how you dislike the occasion, which really grounds the piece. The description of the unfolding events are very organized despite the madness – even your description of you drinking too much coca-cola is funny and extends the story. The part about you passing out and having a dream breaks up the piece, and is also very relatable to many people. The segment at the end confirms that the night is not really a success. Good use of grammar and punctuation, especially your use of quotation marks. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *